Olathe_Diversity_Award_Picture_Hector_Silva.Sharon_Lawrenz.Vivian_AveryPathway To Hope Recognized for Contibutions

The City of Olathe Human Relations Commission and the Persons with Disabilities Advisory

Board in partnership with the Police Advisory Board hosted the eighth annual Community Awards Program on Thursday, May 26th in the Council Chamber at Olathe City Hall.

The awards recognized individuals and entities for meritorious service in the pursuit of cultural diversity and advocacy of human rights that benefit Olathe citizens. The theme of the event was “Diversity Makes the Difference.” Individuals and organizations working in Olathe who have contributed to the promotion of human rights benefitting the citizens of Olathe were honored and received awards at the event.

Award categories and recipients included:

Police Department Commission/Organization Award – Pathway to Hope – Sharon Lawrenz,Executive Director
Olathe Human Relations Commission Humanitarian Award – Sgt. Brian Wessling, Olathe
Educator Award – Dr. Connie Heinen, principal and Olathe North staff member
Youth Award (19 or under) – Clayton Crow
Olathe Human Relations Commission Chairman’s Award – Lane Green
Accessible Community Award – Design Sense, Inc., 360 Architects, Weitz Construction, and K-State Olathe Innovation Campus, Dan Richardson, CEO; Brenda Volle, City of Olathe staff
Police Services Award – Captain Greg O’Halloran, Olathe Police Department

“We are honored to be included in this group of organizations and individuals working to make a difference in people’s lives. Pathway To Hope will continue to do all it can to support those we serve by encouraging diversity and by breaking down the barriers and stigma associated with mental illness,” said Sharon Lawrenz, Executive Director.